The ABC of me

Bailey over at Vanilla Blonde blogged about this the other day and I loved the concept (after my April A-Z challenge, it seems that the alphabet is a recurring theme here)

Thought I would hop on the bandwagon and share my alphabet with you.

Animal Cruelty
Nothing in life distresses me as much as animal cruelty. I know I would be capable of murder.
If I found any abusers, I would shoot them… somewhere really painful so that they could die slowly. No second thoughts and no remorse.
People like this do not deserve to be on the planet. Despicable scum.

Balki Bartokomous

Very random I know! But this is what I immediately thought of when I was pondering the letter B.
My brother and I loved watching Perfect Strangers when we were younger. Balki’s character was very sweet and kind and I loved his Dance of Joy.

Cupcakes
I adore cupcakes. Red Velvet are my absolute favourite and Woolies make the best

Dessert
Tiramisu is my favourite dessert. I have a great recipe that uses whipped cream instead of marscapone cheese as a slightly lower calorie option. It also uses

Eyelashes
My eyelashes are not very thick. Like my hair, they are fine. When I sleep, I tend to squish my face into the pillow and as a result, my eyelashes get a kink in them. Even after 2 layers of mascara, a few lashes insist on being difficult!

Bad eyelash day – bent skew

Feet
I love taking photos of my feet – who knows where I got it from!

Guilty Pleasures
My lifestyle job is pretty hectic and it isn’t often that I get to spend a few hours doing “nothing” When I do, my guilty pleasure is to switch my mind off and binge-watch series (just finished Hart of Dixie) with some yummy treats and my kitty cat snuggled on the blanket with me.

Huge vegetables
My dad has the biggest green thumb of anyone I have ever known. He won 1st prize in an agricultural competition in 1989 – the pumpkin weighed 65kgs.

Last year he grew a squash that was almost too heavy for me to lift and in May he sent me a photo of his sweet potato. (Pity money trees don’t exist)

Italian Food
My weakness. I could never join the banting movement and that is due to a certain little italian restaurant in Kyalami – La Trinita.
Their pasta is to die for. Cream, ricotta cheese, bacon bits… you name it, they do it.
Before the meal they bring you a basket of piping hot “dough balls” Smear your butter on them, sip your sangria and the evening of delight begins.
Look them up if you are ever in the area – I PROMISE you will not be disappointed.

Calamari topped with my staple ingredient – bacon!

J’s Shower
Last year I was with J when she went into labour.
This year she is pregnant with twins. I will be planning her baby shower to help get as much as possible for these babies. I need to start looking for a venue, that is always the hardest part.

Kindness
Costs nothing, so don’t be stingy with it. I try to be as kind as possible to everyone I meet.

Love Triangles
The theme in 2 of my favourite series.
The Vampire Diaries: Elena, Stefan and Damon
Hart of Dixie: Zoe, Wade, George

The worst part is that I genuinely find myself liking both men. I have always secretly wondered if I am ever going to be able to succeed in monogamy.
Is there a religion out there that allows me to have 2 husbands? If so, sign me up!

Music
A well-written song is my weakness. I love how a few simple words cleverly strung together can convey feelings that stir up my emotions.

New Job
After 2 years of being thoroughly unhappy (and grossly overworked) I have resigned. I begin at a brand new company on 1 June.
It is liberating and also a little bit scary.
7 years of knowing what I am doing is a huge comfort. To move to a place with new people, a new job spec… very intimidating indeed!

Old age
I wonder if I will end up in a nice retirement village. Preferably with some good looking young men cleaning the pool or serving me cocktails.

Pilates
Something I have neglected, and something I truly miss! I enjoyed the feeling of well-being and I liked the strength my body started to build. Being fit and strong is a place I want to find again.

Quill
I once commissioned a quill to be made for a revamp of a 2nd hand bookstore I was involved in. It was so beautiful and yet I never ever took a photo of it. The quill had a burgundy feather and a pewter handle with etching.

Reading
Since I was a little girl I have always had a passion for reading. I spent many a cold winters day snuggled up in the warm car and reading the latest Nancy Drew novel. I used to use all my brother’s library cards so that I could take out extra books. I used to keep a list of the books I had read on a homemade bookmark. I wish I had saved them all. Life is so much easier now that we have apps for everything!

Sleeping late
I love sleeping late. I can stay awake until midnight, or I can go to bed early, but I never was, and never will be an early riser.

Toothbrush
Buy yourself an electric toothbrush. You think you don’t need it, but you actually do. It will also eliminate over-brushing and long-term tooth sensitivity.

Unconditional love
I have said it before and I will say it again: My parents and friends (and let’s include my boyfriend in here) are phenomenal. Sticking through me with my job stress and the other unfortunate events of late… I really am blessed to have them in my life.

Vintage
I have always wanted to have a Vintage themed party. Perhaps my 50th…

Wanderlust
The travel bug bit me years ago and I spend many many hours dreaming about all the places I would love to visit if I had the money.
I try to keep life interesting, for me travel is the way to do it. Whether it be local or abroad, every new place explored is a story to tell. A happy place for your soul.

Xenophobia
An unreasonable fear or hatred of foreigners or strangers or of that which is foreign or strange.
Another wave of violence that is affecting our beautiful country. I detest the mentality that people have. Cruelty towards a human or an animal is never acceptable.

Youth Dew
My godmother’s favourite scent, a smell I will always associate with her.

Zomato
Claudz introduced me to the Zomato app. It’s an app that enables you to find a restaurant in an area by searching for a preferred dish, a speciality such as Desserts and Bakes, Cafes & Luxury Dining or even by searching the area you are in. You can read other user’s reviews & photos and view the menu beforehand. Think Trip Advisor for foodies!
The problem I now have, is that I am constantly looking for new restaurants to try so that I can write a new Zomato review.
Are you on Zomato? Look me up: JhbPrincess

Did you notice how many of my references were about food – I think I have a problem!

Leave a comment