{April A-Z Challenge} The Letter V

V is for … Venetian Mask

Since before I went to Italy, I have always been fascinated with the Venetian Masks and I have always wanted my own so that I could get all dressed up and attend my very own masquerade ball.
The first thing I did when I got to Venice was begin the hunt for the perfect mask. I had no idea what I wanted, but I knew I would know it when I saw it. (Kind of like wedding dress shopping, you know)

We saw ornate masks, creepy masks and gorgeous masks. I saw the perfect one! A cat mask. Featuring little black velvet ears, sequins and black lace, it was the most exquisite piece I had ever seen. I was bitterly disappointed to discover that the store was already closed.
The search continued – and I found my 2nd perfect mask.
I have had it since 2005 and I have yet to attend an event where I get to wear the mask. Go figure!
It has always been a dream of mine to visit Venice and attend the annual masked balls, it must surely be something spectacular to experience.

4 thoughts on “{April A-Z Challenge} The Letter V

Leave a comment